PVP, TerriBAD and Filling the Gaps

I have to admit something here—I’m an average player.

But I’m always looking for ways to improve my game.

I think an often overlooked aspect of self-improvement is recognizing yours goals. Sure, things may change along the way, but you gotta start somewhere. Real Life Example: I know a lot of guys who want to work in the game industry. And the majority of them are stuck in shit jobs. So I ask them what they want to do. “Well,” they say, “I’m good at Maya, but I really want to be a designer. But it’s tough because I’m working on putting together a demo reel of my animation stuff. Also, did you see that COMPANY X is hiring producers?”

People sometimes get so attracted to some nebulous concept like working in the game industry that they don’t even know what they want to do, let alone how to get there. You can apply this to WoW. Everyone wants to be the best player, want to be decked out in the sweetest gear, be the first to accomplish something. Generally, people just want to be recognized. Few know how to do this, and even fewer will achieve it.

Since switching to a healer role in PVP, I’ve started to see the big picture. There are a lot of people who really suck at this game.

People don’t know their role, plain and simple. In the quest to deal out the highest damage or get the most killing blows, people tend to ignore the big picture.

CASE STUDY 01: Warsong Gulch – A large group of horde players, lead by two rogues enters the alliance flag room. Finding the flag room lightly guarded, this group of 6 or so horde players quickly dismantles alliance defenses. A 68 rogue picks up the flag and sprints out down the ramp, picking up a speed buff along the way. The rest of the group struggles to catch up, watching the rogue’s health drop. LUCKILY an awesome Paladin healer manages to catch up to the rogue and heal him to full health. Just as a swarm of alliance is about to attack, the Paladin casts Blessing of Freedom.

What does the Rogue do? Seeing that he is at full health, but ignoring the BoF, the rogue, who is still carrying the flag, TURNS THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION and engages the 5 alliance heading toward him. In the ultimate act of bravery/stupidity, the rogue dies dropping the flag. Said rogue then berates his team for not helping him carry the flag.

CASE STUDY 02: Warsong Gulch, again—the game has become a long, defensive struggle. Alliance flag runner is firmly entrenched inside the flag room, guarded by 5 other alliance defenders. Horde offense is scattered across the map, taking out the few alliance attempting to retrieve their flag. Ignoring the pointless battles occurring mid-map, a noble Paladin makes their way to the Alliance flag room, flanked in tow by a level 69 undead warrior. Paladin breaks off, and heads for the roof, hoping to get a better angle to heal. The battleground leader attempts to marshal a large attack force, but to little avail. At this point, as the paladin is moving to position, the 69 Warrior decides to charge into a group of 6 alliance defenders. He is out of healing range and has no backup. He dies quickly.

WARRIOR: come on guys, 69 warrior cant do it myself

WARRIOR: you guys are so terribe

REALLY? A 69 Warrior can’t CHARGE into a group of 6 alliance and do it all himself? I would have never guessed! Perhaps waiting for a healer to catch up to you, or even you know, allowing the rest of your team to join you before charging in, would have been a better strategy.

I really can’t complain too much though, since I used to be this player. Most bad players in this game tend to think they are invincible, and their only goal is trying to do as much damage as they can. I believe this is what’s called “tunnel vision.”

Being a healer, I’ve got a much better view of the battlefield, and better awareness of the situation. I was kind of forced to, seeing as how I’ve got a shitload of health bar to monitor. It’s become a great learning experience, because I now see the common mistakes people make, and through others, I recognize my own faults and weaknesses. I don’t have much experience in the arena, but I’m sure if you watch the guys who play at a high level, they don’t rush in blind and just start spamming attacks. The best players in this game understand their role, their teammate’s roles, and the roles of their opponents.

In that sense, I’ve moved on from wanting to be best on the battlefield. I realize now I’m much more valuable as a support player, rather than random DPS n00b spamming crusader strike. I have fun when I’m winning, and in order to win, my job is to keep my team alive.

People just need to step back and realize what it is they are trying to accomplish. I don’t know too many players whose favorite part of the game is rezing at the Spirit Healer 50 times. Sit back, calm down, take a deep breath and just take a few seconds to recognize what the hell is going on around you.

With that note, I’d like to point out this is EXACTLY why I need to find a dedicated PVP guild.

2 Responses to PVP, TerriBAD and Filling the Gaps

  1. gnomeaggedon says:

    A different perspective can change everything. I don’t have the time to acquire it via alts, and a mage is a mage is a mage, but at least I take the time to work out why things are going wrong, and can both issue instructions and listen to them

  2. Tgregoryt says:

    Just popped into your site and like your comments. Last night I was in WSG and a mage picked up the flag. He shielded himself and ran towards our flag room. OK, mage FC isn’t so great, but maybe it will work. Not so bad. Then six alli descend on him and rather then blinking out of there and running hells-bells to the safety/winning side of our flag room, he turns to fight them! Now I’m a decent healer, but – damn – there’s nothing I can do about that.

    Not long after a 51 hunter picks up the flag. I pretty much decided to let him snuff it.

    I have also had the twinked whatever class shout out “you guys are horrible” while running full kilter into 8 allies and not bothering to notice that a rogue has stunned his healer and is currently beating the crap out of him. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

